HubSpot vs Pipedrive: Free CRM vs Per-Seat Pricing

By · Published · Last updated · Prices checked

How we checked this: Compared from official docs and pricing pages as of 2026-10-19. We haven't tested these tools hands-on.

Pick HubSpot if you want a free CRM you can keep: HubSpot says its free CRM is "100% free with no expiration date" [1]. Pick Pipedrive if you'll pay for a sales pipeline from day one. Lite is US$14 per seat per month, billed annually, as of Oct. 19, 2026 [4].

For other options, see our HubSpot alternatives list or the best AI tools for small business guide.

HubSpot vs Pipedrive: quick answer

HubSpot vs Pipedrive at a glance, as of 2026-10-19
HubSpot Pipedrive
Free option Free CRM: free for up to 2 users, no expiration date, no credit card (HubSpot says) [1][6] Free 14-day trial, no credit card [4]
Entry paid price Starter Core Seat: $20/month per seat, list price; HubSpot's catalog doesn't say whether this is billed monthly or annually (as of Oct. 19, 2026) [2] Lite: US$14 per seat per month, billed annually; US$24 per seat per month, billed monthly [4]
Sales-focused tier Sales Hub Professional: $90/mo/seat on an annual commitment; the $100/mo/seat list is what Pay Monthly shows, still on an annual commitment; plus the required one-time $1,500 flat onboarding fee [2][7] Premium: US$59 per seat per month, billed annually; US$79 per seat per month, billed monthly; no onboarding fee in our sources [4]
Read-only users View-Only seats at no additional cost on Starter, Professional and Enterprise; the catalog's seat table doesn't cover the free CRM (as of 2026-10-22) [2] Not covered in our sources
Integrations (vendor claims) Over 2,000 apps, HubSpot says [1] 500+ integrations, Pipedrive says [4]

Prices as of 2026-10-19 (vendor pricing pages and HubSpot's legal catalog), in USD. HubSpot's pricing-page figures were read in a browser on 2026-10-19 [6][7]. Pipedrive's prices exclude VAT [4]. Prices and plan limits change. Check the vendor's pricing page before you buy.

HubSpot's catalog doesn't say whether its seat list prices assume monthly or annual billing. Limited-time promotional prices aren't included, so this article uses the $20/month per seat list price (HubSpot's catalog doesn't say whether this is billed monthly or annually, as of Oct. 19, 2026) [2]. Sales Hub Professional "starts at $90/mo/seat" on an annual commitment; the $100/mo/seat list is what Pay Monthly shows, still on an annual commitment; and the price shown doesn't include the required one-time $1,500 flat Professional Onboarding fee (as of Oct. 19, 2026) [7]. HubSpot says Starter has no onboarding fee [7].

Free plan vs free trial: what you actually get

HubSpot: HubSpot says that, "unlike a free trial," its free CRM is free with no expiration date and needs no credit card [1]. HubSpot's pricing page says its free tools are "Free for up to 2 users" [6]. The HubSpot pages we read don't state a contact limit for the free CRM, so check HubSpot's FAQ if you have a large list.

Pipedrive: Pipedrive's pricing page offers a free 14-day trial with no credit card required [4]. You can invite as many people as you want to join the trial [4]. Your payment options depend on the country you live in [4].

Our tip: during a Pipedrive trial, invite everyone who'll use it, so the seat count you buy is based on real use.

Pricing per seat for 1, 3 and 5 users (as of 2026-10-19)

Math: price per seat x number of seats, per month, USD, from the prices in [2], [4] and [7] (for example, 3 x US$59 per seat per month billed annually = $177; 3 x $90/mo/seat on an annual commitment = $270, as of Oct. 19, 2026).

Cost per month by team size, USD, as of 2026-10-19 (each row states its own billing basis)
Plan 1 seat 3 seats 5 seats
HubSpot free CRM [1][6] $0 Not available (free for up to 2 users) Not available
HubSpot Starter Core Seat, $20/month per seat list price; HubSpot's catalog doesn't say whether this is billed monthly or annually (as of Oct. 19, 2026) [2] $20 (at the list rate, basis not stated) $60 (at the list rate, basis not stated) $100 (at the list rate, basis not stated)
HubSpot Sales Hub Professional, $100/mo/seat list price (what Pay Monthly shows, still on an annual commitment) [2][7] $100 $300 $500
HubSpot Sales Hub Professional, starts at $90/mo/seat on an annual commitment [7] $90 $270 $450
Pipedrive Lite, US$14 per seat per month, billed annually [4] $14 $42 $70
Pipedrive Lite, US$24 per seat per month, billed monthly [4] $24 $72 $120
Pipedrive Premium, US$59 per seat per month, billed annually [4] $59 $177 $295

Billed annually, a Pipedrive Lite seat is one payment of US$168 per seat per year, as of Oct. 19, 2026 [4]. Pipedrive says annual billing saves up to 42% [4].

Not in the table: the required one-time $1,500 flat Professional Onboarding fee for Sales Hub Professional, as of Oct. 19, 2026 [7] (see the first-year example below); Pipedrive add-ons such as LeadBooster or Campaigns, which can be added to any plan [4] (Pipedrive's pricing page doesn't state their unit or whether they're billed monthly or annually, as of Oct. 19, 2026, so we leave their prices out); and HubSpot Credits beyond what your plan includes.

First-year cost for a sales team, with the onboarding fee

HubSpot's Professional price is on an annual commitment [7], so compare it with Pipedrive billed annually. Math: monthly seat price x seats x 12 months, plus one-time fees.

First-year cost, sales-focused tier, USD, as of 2026-10-19
Plan (billing period) 3 seats, first year 5 seats, first year
HubSpot Sales Hub Professional at $90/mo/seat on an annual commitment, + the required one-time $1,500 flat onboarding fee [7] $3,240 + $1,500 = $4,740 $5,400 + $1,500 = $6,900
HubSpot Sales Hub Professional at the $100/mo/seat list (what Pay Monthly shows, still on an annual commitment) for 12 months, + the required one-time $1,500 flat onboarding fee [2][7] $3,600 + $1,500 = $5,100 $6,000 + $1,500 = $7,500
Pipedrive Premium, billed annually (US$708 per seat/year) [4] $2,124 $3,540

The onboarding fee is a first-year cost: HubSpot calls it one-time [7]. From year two, the gap is the seat price alone: $3,240 vs $2,124 a year for 3 seats at the prices above.

Pipeline and quote tracking for service jobs

If you send quotes, you'll want to move each job through stages such as "quote sent" and "won." HubSpot's own comparison page calls Pipedrive "a capable pipeline management tool" [5]. That's a competitor's description, not our test.

We didn't check which plans include quotes, products or e-signature, so check each vendor's plan pages before you pick a tier.

Automation and AI features (attributed)

HubSpot Credits: HubSpot Starter products include 500 HubSpot Credits a month, Professional 3,000 and Enterprise 5,000 [2]. You can add more credits to your account, and unused credits don't roll over into the next month [2].

Our tip: if you'll lean on credit-based features, estimate your monthly use before you choose a tier, and check what each feature costs in credits.

HubSpot's view of Pipedrive: HubSpot's comparison page argues that Pipedrive's AI agents "only see sales data — no marketing context, no service history," and that Pipedrive "lacks native marketing, service" tools [5]. HubSpot says its comparison reflects what was publicly available as of August 2026 [5]. That's HubSpot's argument about a competitor. We haven't tested either tool's AI.

When neither fits: field-service software

If you mostly need to schedule jobs, dispatch techs and invoice from the truck, a sales CRM may be the wrong tool. We didn't check scheduling or dispatch features in HubSpot or Pipedrive for this page. Compare field-service tools in our best CRM for contractors guide.

Decision rule: which should you pick?

Who should pick which

HubSpot fits you if you want to start free and keep it free, or you need several read-only users [1][2].

Not for: HubSpot isn't for you if several people need paid sales features on a tight budget, because Sales Hub Professional is $90/mo/seat on an annual commitment; the $100/mo/seat list is what Pay Monthly shows, still on an annual commitment; plus the required one-time $1,500 flat onboarding fee (as of Oct. 19, 2026) [2][7]. The free CRM isn't for teams of 3 or more, because it's free for up to 2 users [6].

Pipedrive fits you if you'll pay for a pipeline CRM now and want prices from US$14 per seat per month, billed annually, as of Oct. 19, 2026 [4].

Not for: Pipedrive isn't for you if you want a free plan you can keep, because its pricing page offers a 14-day trial instead [4]. It's also a weaker fit if you'd need several add-ons, because each is listed with its own "starting from" price [4].

What to do next

Count who needs to edit records and who only needs to view them. Then price both tools for that number with the table above, and start one free trial or the free CRM. More options: HubSpot alternatives and the best AI tools for small business.

Prices checked . Prices and plans change; confirm on each vendor's site.

Frequently asked questions

Is HubSpot CRM really free?

HubSpot says its free CRM is 100% free with no expiration date and needs no credit card [1]. Paid features are sold per seat [2].

Is Pipedrive cheaper than HubSpot?

It depends on the plan. HubSpot's free CRM costs $0 and is free for up to 2 users [6]; Pipedrive offers a 14-day trial instead of a free plan [4]. For sales teams, as of Oct. 19, 2026, 3 Pipedrive Premium seats billed annually cost $2,124 a year [4], against $4,740 in year one for 3 HubSpot Sales Hub Professional seats at $90/mo/seat on an annual commitment plus the required one-time $1,500 flat onboarding fee [7].

Which is better for a small team?

It depends on whether you'll pay. Use the decision rule above. We haven't tested either tool, so we don't rank them.

Can either schedule jobs or dispatch techs?

Our sources don't cover it yet. For job scheduling, compare field-service tools in our best CRM for contractors guide (linked above).

Can I take my data out of HubSpot if I switch?

Yes. HubSpot lets users on all products and plans export records such as contacts and deals; download links expire after 30 days [3].

Sources

Claims on this page are cited to the sources below. Prices and features change, so check the vendor's own page before you buy.

  1. HubSpot, 'Free CRM Software for Startups & Small Businesses'
  2. HubSpot, 'HubSpot Product & Services Catalog'
  3. HubSpot Knowledge Base, 'Export your records'
  4. Pipedrive, 'Pipedrive Pricing'
  5. HubSpot, 'HubSpot vs. Pipedrive | Sales Software Comparison Guide' (vendor comparison page)
  6. HubSpot, 'Free Tools | HubSpot' (HubSpot CRM pricing page)
  7. HubSpot, 'Sales Software Pricing | HubSpot'

Last updated:

Related guides